Day Thirty: Of Epilogues and Such

NOTE: apparently in my typical habit of procrastinating, I did not post this last entry.  It helps to hit the publish button, doesn’t it?  Thanks for coming along on my month long journey, and who knows what will come from this adventure. Maybe I will find a new challenge…

image: dopereads.com

I am justifiably pleased with myself.  Four weeks ago I thought I myself feloniously stupid for attempting to write a 50,000 word novel and here I am done.  All I have to do is plug it in and get my certificate, toss it on Mrs. X’s desk, surprise her, and collect my extra credit.

Later:

I am holding the certificate in my hand. I have added initials upon the board of the (one) other NaNoWriMo winners. The extra credit was as exciting as having had actually completed the Herculean undertaking of writing a novel of 50,000 words in 30 days.

Technically, I don’t think I can call what I accomplished a novel.  I think it is a blogel–it’s a blog about writing a novel.

Although, I have to admit it has most of the elements of a novel: a character (me plus some), a setting (where I live and it’s happening now), conflict (Will Eddie notice me?  Will I ever get over my fears of friendship abandonment?  Will I find out about my Dad’s life in Scotland? ), a theme (life is about as real as it gets), and the plot–that one is covered because the NaNoWriMo motto is “no plot, no problem.”  Works for me.

EPILOGUE:

Since this  all ends without any real ending, I’ve decided I would end it as I would like to see things ended.  If I were a character in a novel the author could change my life any way he or she would want to.  Now, that is power.  If I could create an ending to my “story” here is what I would do:

1.  Get an “A” on my Daylight Saving Time report, and an “A” on my guinea pig PowerPoint for biology.

2.  Although I don’t get my blogel published, I do get an article about my experience published in TeenWrite.  There’s no money exchanged, but it’s cool to know my words are being read by other people.  Who knows, maybe I’ll inspire someone else to try NaNoWriMo  when November rolls around.

3. Simone and I keep our friendship  going, and I’m not even depressed when she returns to France. Maybe it helped that I knew all along that she would be leaving, and that she was the one who would be moving, not me (for once).  I attend more French club meetings and make new friends and even sign up for French.

3.  Eddie and I become friends after being assigned as lab partners in biology.  Even I won’t try to dream about being anything more than that.  Or should I?

4.  Dad decides he needs to go to Scotland to visit his parents since they are getting too old to travel.  He takes me along and I learn everything about Dad’s family.

5. I get my driver’s license and Mom and Dad say it’s okay to drive the four hours to visit and stay with Gran sometimes.

6.  Mom and Dad give me a car for my sixteenth birthday.  Why not?  This is my hopes for an everafter that’s happy, right?

7.  I sign up for Honors English, even though Mrs. X teaches it.  Happy everafters don’t have to be perfect.  I learned that maybe writing is genetic and to become a writer I need to learn about writing.  Admittedly, The X Factor is a teacher I’m learning something from.  As an extra, I  decide she reads one of my stories as an example of good writing.

8. I take two things and combine them into one thing.  I decide to do something, like the guy from Tangerine Tree suggested.  My something is playing the trumpet (along with a couple of other kids I get to know who also play, but not for the school band) for the senior citizens at the convalescent homes.  I know, that’s a big one, isn’t it?  It means I have to get out and get over my allergy to people focusing on me.  I hear that the old folks are an appreciative audience.  Might be because they are asleep in their chairs or their hearing aides are off.  It’s a start.  Somehow Eddie is involved in this one.  Somehow, I said.

9.  My novel that I will write someday is accepted by a New York agent and there are movie negotiations in the works. Hey, if the kid who wrote Eragon could do it, why can’t I?

10.  Timmy gets to keep Twinkles.  Not everything has to be about me.

Until next November (maybe even sooner)

Vera

 verisimilitude

ver·i·si·mil·i·tude [vèrrə si míllə td]  n (formal)

appearance of being true: the appearance of being true or real

Encarta ® World English Dictionary © & (P) 1998-2005 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Vera-similitude: reality is a matter of perspective

CricketMuse © 2010 and 2012

 

One response to “Day Thirty: Of Epilogues and Such

  1. Thanks for the ping! Congrats on NaNo! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

